7/27/08 – Lake 16 – Deep Dive & Navigation

[NOTE: This is a continuation of a previous post. All details about Lake 16, directions, and site pictures, can be seen here.]

 

This post will be fairly short since I gave all the details about Lake 16 previously.

Dive 1: Deep Dive

We did another deep dive early Sunday morning.  We descended to the first platform at 15 ft, then followed the line to the boat I previously mentioned. I think this boat sits at about 30-40ft.  As I mentioned on the previous post, there are a couple different lines heading off this boat. Last time we headed down to a platform with a toilet on it, this time we went the other way, to the car.  Let me tell you, doing an 80ft dive in Lake 16 at 7:30 in the morning will definantly wake you up! Yes, it was still cold. I couldn’t see much of the car, I didn’t even realize it was the car at first. I basically only saw the top, which is red with a white strip (to look like a diver’s flag) and has Banana something written acrossed it. I did bring the underwater camera with me. I took a picture, but I won’t know for a while if it turned out or not. (I took a whopping 2 pictures in Lake 16, and it was fresh film in a 35mm camera, so I’ll have to do some more diving before it gets developed. But I will post them if they turn out.)

Here’s one of the two pictures I took. This is of the hood of the car. Someone painted a diver’s down flag on the hood with scuba written acrossed it. The other picture that was taken at only 10 ft didn’t turn out.

Before we went down, we were told we were going down to the car and snowmobile. I never saw the snowmobile, if we passed it, I didn’t pay attention. So FYI there is a snowmobile down there too.

After we ascended, we never really left the water till we were done, so I really can’t say Dive 2. We hung out closer to the boat launch for the rest of our time there. We did some navigational tests, where we had to first swim a 40’x40′ square w/o a compass (obviously underwater, alone) using our kick count from the day before.  Next we did it with a compass, then a 40′ triangle with the compass, then a straight line 100′ out and back. Point was to make sure you ended up where you started. I never made it. I SUCK at navigation, but hey, that’s what Brian is for.

Last, but not least, we did the search and find. We took a 2liter bottle, painted brightly yellow, tied to an anchor, and then swam out above surface a little ways. Before dropping the anchor we were supposed to find two “markers” (for some reason I am drawing a blank on what its called!) so we can pinpoint that spot again. Then swim back near shore, then go back out using our markers to find where the bottle was dropped, then go find it.  I sucked at this too. This is where my horrible near-sightedness was a big issue. I couldn’t see well enough to find markers on the shore. I’ll retry these tests when I can see to do them.

That’s about it. We had fun. If you’re diving with a group, I’d suggest Lake 16.  I just hope that if you have never been there, you can find the platforms! LOL

Leave a Reply

